A lingering embrace

Slow mists stirred
by the invisible wind
I cannot hear
nor feel

Cool, lonely
this mountain side
cloud the only company
a lingering embrace

Down, down
they do not know
yet mountain needs
no human blessing
forest flanks
insulate
the noise of ants

To rocky spires
footprints mean nothing
from far above
they do not notice
mine

The eagle takes no flight path
his destination
only to soar
reaping the wet air
breathed by the ocean
on her mountain daughter

My reason for being here
a job to do
seems far removed
from anything
the real reason
I suspect
is much much more

As I stand
looking
breathing
blinking
looking
I know that some time hence
thinking
this time will be
more than a job I did

Who brought me
to show me
and why
I wonder
whoever it is
the mountain knows
it seems
but is not talking
and I feel strangely
curiously
wondrously
embraced

The mists rise
promising their lover
a later caress
away from
prying eyes

Valleys once more
shout their presence to the mountain
but mountains cannot
or do not
hear
though of this
the valleys
do not care

The eagle leaves
to who knows where
higher places no doubt
no man shall see
I leave too
to seek my bed
before dark mountain night
mocks me with its bite

About spiritsail

Surveying. Thinking. Wondering. Enjoying. Thanking. Kiwi, Christian, lived in UK half my life (>20 years). Husband, Father, and geologist. Tweet at Dave@NZUK.
This entry was posted in Greece, nature, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment